Yet another academic year has kicked in and once more, your student council was successfully voted in for by you, fellow students, on the 23rd of September. Last week Friday, the council met on campus for their Annual General Meeting, a five-hour long introductory and mandatory discussion session where new members were inducted and shown the ropes. Friday’s meeting also decided who the executive members of the council would be. You can expect to see some familiar faces on the council- returning from last year such as President Adi Hadzic, who was elected into office by the council for a second consecutive term.

“Friday’s meeting was quite successful. We managed to bring aboard the new members and give them details on how the council is run and what authority we have in the university,” Hadzic said. “Our aim this year is to do at least one event a week to keep students active with council activities and to make our well-known events, such as the ball, more successful than last year. We also hope to be more present on the academia side of things this year. We have put at least one member onto each school committee in order to keep the council up to speed with what goes on in committees such as the board of trustees and student services. As always our goal is to make student life more enjoyable and I believe we have a great team this year”.

Five new members have been brought onto the council and these include Arevik Zadoyan, Kristyna Mala, Liberta Dergam, Yelyzaveta Artamanova and Mark Reges. One of the more incredible things to mention is how diverse this year’s council is. With five male and five female members who come from Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Vietnam, Russia, Fiji, The United States, Armenia, and the Czech Republic, it can’t become any more of a fruit salad than it already is!

Upcoming events for the next two weeks include the AAU Spirit Week and the International Food Day on the 7th of October. Council Members

• Adi Hadzic – President

• Christopher Downs – Vice President

• An Nguyen – Secretary

• Kristyna Mala – Treasurer

• Arevik Zadoyan – IT Specialist

• Raevenn Breen – Public Relations Officer

• Valeryia Baradai – Public Relations Officer

• Liberta Dergam – Club Coordinator

• Yelyzaveta Artamanova – Member

• Mark Reges – Member